Doses used in published trials
This list is built from the study database. It shows the dose the researchers chose in each study, and for how long. Follow a study’s link for its design, result and limits.
These are not recommended doses. A dose used in a trial is not shown to be the right dose, or a safe dose, for any person or animal. Talk to your doctor or vet.
Humans
- Misasi 2026
Observational study - A five-ingredient supplement for 14 days each month, or fosfomycin every 10 days; PEA amount not in the abstract. Duration: 6 months.
- Schouten 2026
Randomised controlled trial - Levagen+ 2 x 350 mg a day or maltodextrin placebo. Duration: Each condition covered one bout of muscle-damaging exercise (240 eccentric knee-extensor contractions) with biopsies at baseline and 48 hours.
- Scibetta 2026
Observational study - 600 mg of palmitoylethanolamide with 250 mg of baicalin, twice a day (Neuridase). The comparison group took no supplement. Duration: 6 months.
- Srivastava 2026
Randomised controlled trial - Two dose levels of palmitoylethanolamide against placebo. The record checked does not give the doses or the number of participants. Duration: 12 weeks.
- Steardo 2026
Randomised controlled trial - 1,200 mg a day of ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide or placebo, each with or without cognitive behavioural therapy. Duration: 6 months of treatment and 12 months of follow-up.
- Taye 2026
Case series - PEA 300 mg capsules (Metagenics Bio Absorb PEA), 600 mg a day, plus a daily probiotic capsule; matched placebo capsules in the baseline phase. Duration: 11 weeks: 2 or 4 weeks of placebo, then 7 to 9 weeks of active treatment, with the switch point concealed.
- Zaurito 2026
Observational study - A saw palmetto, lycopene and selenium product, with or without an Epilobium, palmitoylethanolamide and Calendula product; doses not in the abstract. Duration: Assessed at 1 week and 1 month.
- Assogna 2025
Randomised controlled trial - 700 mg of palmitoylethanolamide with 70 mg of luteolin, twice a day. Duration: 24 weeks.
- Bentivenga 2025
Observational study - 600 mg of palmitoylethanolamide with 500 mg of acetyl-L-carnitine twice a day for 8 weeks, then once a day (Kalanit), added to standard care. Duration: 12 weeks.
- Bortoletto 2025
Open-label, no control group - 600 mg a day of ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide, added to usual treatment. Duration: 12 weeks.
- Cominacini 2025
Observational study - A fixed-combination supplement taken with conventional therapy; component doses not stated in the abstract. Duration: 8 weeks.
- Cornali 2025
Randomised controlled trial - Two capsules a day, each with 360 mg of co-micronised palmitoylethanolamide-rutin and 15 mg of hydroxytyrosol. Duration: 8 weeks on each of supplement and placebo, with a 2-week washout.
- Crupi 2025
Meta-analysis - As used in the included studies, mostly 300 mg twice daily. Duration: Searched to August 2023.
- Deb 2025
Randomised controlled trial - 600 mg a day of Levagen+. Duration: 6 weeks on each of palmitoylethanolamide and placebo, with a 2-week washout.
- Invernizzi 2025
Open-label, no control group - Tablets with 600 mg of palmitoylethanolamide and 300 mg of Equisetum arvense: two a day for 2 weeks, then one a day for 6 weeks. Duration: 8 weeks.
- Piccolo 2025
Randomised controlled trial - 1,200 mg of palmitoylethanolamide with 0.2 mg of melatonin, once a day at bedtime. Duration: 3 months, after a 2-month run-in.
- Rao 2025
Randomised controlled trial - One capsule of Levagen+ 350 mg (at least 300 mg PEA) or microcrystalline cellulose placebo at pain onset (NRS 5 or more), with a second capsule at 2 hours if pain persisted. Duration: Up to 4 pain events per woman over 16 weeks, in randomised crossover order; each event followed for 4 hours.
- Batacan 2024
Randomised controlled trial - 700 mg a day of Levagen+ (350 mg twice a day). Duration: 12 weeks.
- Bortoletto 2024
Case series - 600 mg a day of ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide, with no other medication. Duration: 4 months, with follow-up to 36 weeks.
- Briskey 2024
Randomised controlled trial - 600 mg of Levagen+ at the start of a migraine. A second dose was allowed after 2 hours. Duration: Single migraine events, observed for up to 8 hours.
- Cantone 2024
Randomised controlled trial - One sachet daily of ultramicronised PEA 700 mg plus luteolin 70 mg (Glialia, Epitech); alpha-lipoic acid 800 mg daily; or both; all groups did daily olfactory training. Duration: 6 months.
- Cocito 2024
Open-label, no control group - 600 mg of ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide twice a day (Normast 600 tablets). Duration: 60 days of treatment within 180 days of observation.
- Davis 2024
Randomised controlled trial - 400 mg once a day or 400 mg twice a day (OptiPEA capsules), against placebo. Duration: 8 weeks.
- Di 2024
Randomised controlled trial - 200 mg of palmitoylethanolamide with 20 mg of polydatin, three times a day. Duration: 12 weeks.
- Didangelos 2024
Randomised controlled trial - One combination tablet twice a day, with 300 mg of palmitoylethanolamide, 300 mg of alpha lipoic acid, superoxide dismutase, B vitamins, vitamin E, magnesium and zinc. Duration: 6 months.
- Gellrich 2024
Randomised controlled trial - Palmitoylethanolamide with luteolin, added to olfactory training. The comparison group did olfactory training alone.
- Huschtscha 2024
Randomised controlled trial - Two Levagen+ capsules a day, each with at least 150 mg of palmitoylethanolamide. Duration: 8 weeks of resistance training.
- Kim 2024
Randomised controlled trial - 700 mg a day of Levagen+. Duration: 6 weeks on each of palmitoylethanolamide and placebo, with a 6-week washout between.
- Merolla 2024
Observational study - Micronised and ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide 600 mg twice daily. Duration: 3 months.
- Morgia 2024
Open-label, no control group - One rectal suppository a day containing palmitoylethanolamide, Epilobium and Calendula; amounts not in the abstract. Duration: 1 month.
- Rao 2024
Randomised controlled trial - A moisturising cream with 1.5% palmitoylethanolamide (Levagen+), applied twice a day, compared with the same base cream without it. Duration: 4 weeks.
- Rhodes 2024
Randomised controlled trial - Low, medium or high doses of a four-compound supplement, or wheat flour control, 2 hours after a standard breakfast; PEA dose not stated in the abstract. Duration: Single doses with blood samples over 4 hours.
- Schouten 2024
Randomised controlled trial - 350 mg before a bout of eccentric knee extensor exercise, against placebo. Duration: 120 hours after exercise.
- Schweiger 2024
Meta-analysis - Ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide at 600 to 1,800 mg a day, or micronised palmitoylethanolamide with polydatin. Duration: At least 60 days.
- Terribili 2024
Open-label, no control group - 1,200 mg of palmitoylethanolamide with 0.2 mg of melatonin, once a day at bedtime. Duration: 3 months, then 1 month off treatment.
- Briskey 2023
Randomised controlled trial - 350 mg a day of Levagen+. Duration: 14 days.
- Capra 2023
Meta-analysis - 700 mg of palmitoylethanolamide with 70 mg of luteolin, once a day. Duration: 30 to 90 days.
- Di 2023
Randomised controlled trial - 700 mg of palmitoylethanolamide with 70 mg of luteolin, once or twice a day, with or without olfactory training. The comparison group had olfactory training with a placebo. Duration: 90 days.
- Lang-Illievich 2023
Meta-analysis - The included trials used 300 mg to 1,200 mg a day. Duration: From 10 days to 12 months. Most trials ran 8 to 12 weeks.
- Latini 2023
Controlled trial - Drug therapy alone; drug therapy plus the supplement; drug therapy plus oxygen-ozone injections; or all three. Supplement doses not stated in the abstract. Duration: 4 weeks.
- Kadanangode 2023
Open-label, no control group - Two tablets once daily after food, each containing PEA 400 mg and astaxanthin 1 mg (PeaNoc XL, Apex Laboratories), added to standard therapy. Duration: 12 weeks.
- Pirro 2023
Observational study - Co-ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide with luteolin; dose not in the abstract. Duration: Not stated in the abstract.
- Rao 2023
Randomised controlled trial - 300 mg of Levagen+ twice a day. Duration: 12 weeks.
- Salaffi 2023
Randomised controlled trial - 600 mg of palmitoylethanolamide with 500 mg of acetyl-L-carnitine, twice a day, added to duloxetine and pregabalin. Duration: 12 weeks after randomisation, with outcomes tracked over 24 weeks.
- Versace 2023
Randomised controlled trial - 700 mg ultramicronised PEA plus 70 mg luteolin (Glialia, Epitech Group) as sublingual microgranules, twice daily, versus inert placebo granules. Duration: 8 weeks.
- Abedini 2022
Randomised controlled trial - 600 mg twice a day, added to lithium and 3 mg of risperidone. The comparison group took placebo with the same drugs. Duration: 6 weeks.
- Albanese 2022
Controlled trial - 1,800 mg a day of ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide, as microgranules taken under the tongue (Normast MPS). Duration: 28 days.
- Bonetti 2022
Observational study - Oral alpha-lipoic acid plus palmitoylethanolamide plus myrrh; doses not stated in the abstract. Duration: Assessed at about 60 days.
- Colizzi 2022
Meta-analysis - Varied. Duration: Not applicable.
- De 2022
Open-label, no control group - 700 mg of palmitoylethanolamide with 70 mg of luteolin a day, taken under the tongue (Glialia). Two of the three groups also did olfactory training. Duration: 90 days.
- Di 2022
Randomised controlled trial - 700 mg ultramicronised PEA plus 70 mg luteolin (Glialia, Epitech Group) once daily, with daily olfactory training in both groups. Duration: 90 days.
- Fessler 2022
Randomised controlled trial - 600 mg of Levagen+ twice a day. Duration: 4 weeks.
- Gonzalez 2022
Open-label, no control group - A palmitoylethanolamide-based product (Calmux) every 12 hours; amount per dose not in the abstract. Duration: 3 months.
- Indraccolo 2022
Meta-analysis - Micronised palmitoylethanolamide with polydatin, short courses. Duration: 3-month follow-up.
- Lang-Illievich 2022
Randomised controlled trial - 400 mg three times a day, against placebo. Duration: 4 weeks on each.
- Pickering 2022
Randomised controlled trial - 600 mg a day of Levagen+. Duration: 8 weeks.
- Raciti 2022
Observational study - 600 mg twice a day. Duration: About 3 months.
- Salehi 2022
Randomised controlled trial - 600 mg twice a day, added to a stable dose of the antipsychotic risperidone. The comparison group took placebo with risperidone. Duration: 8 weeks.
- Scuteri 2022
Meta-analysis - Doses varied. Examples include 600 mg a day and 300 mg twice a day. Duration: Mostly 30 to 60 days.
- Bloch 2021
Open-label, no control group - THX-110: THC up to 10 mg a day with a fixed 800 mg a day of PEA. Duration: 12 weeks, with a 24-week extension.
- D'Ascanio 2021
Randomised controlled trial - Daily oral PEA plus luteolin supplement with weekly olfactory rehabilitation, versus twice-daily olfactory rehabilitation alone. Duration: 30 days.
- De 2021
Controlled trial - No PEA given. Nitroglycerin 0.9 mg under the tongue to provoke a migraine-like attack. Duration: 2 hours of measurements.
- Isola 2021
Randomised controlled trial - A supplement containing palmitoylethanolamide and baicalin, added to standard scaling and root planing. The comparison group had scaling and root planing alone. Duration: 6 months.
- Maghfour 2021
Controlled trial - Commercial topical products: two containing cannabidiol plus PEA, one hemp seed oil product, and four concentrations of cannabidiol alone. Duration: Standard patch-test schedules for irritation, sensitisation and phototoxicity.
- Parisi 2021
Controlled trial - Palmitoylethanolamide 600 mg plus acetyl-L-carnitine 500 mg (Kalanit, Chiesi) twice a day for 2 weeks then once a day. Duration: 82 patients with rheumatoid arthritis or spondyloarthritis and a neuropathy under 12 months old confirmed by electromyography: 42 given the combination on top of standard therapy (18 sciatica, 16 carpal tunnel, 8 lower-limb neuropathy) and 40 matched patients on standard therapy alone (20, 15 and 5).
- Rao 2021
Randomised controlled trial - 350 mg of Levagen+ once a day, one hour before sleep. Duration: 8 weeks.
- Sarnelli 2021
Laboratory study - Biopsies cultured at pH 3.0 or 7.4, with PEA added at several concentrations, alone or with PPAR-alpha or PPAR-gamma blockers. Duration: Tissue culture.
- Zaiss 2021
Observational study - OnLife, a supplement of specific fatty acids with palmitoylethanolamide; dose not in the abstract. Duration: 3 months after the end of chemotherapy.
- Briskey 2020
Randomised controlled trial - A single 300 mg dose: palmitoylethanolamide with the LipiSperse dispersion system (Levagen+) or standard palmitoylethanolamide. Duration: Blood samples over 4 hours.
- Faig-Marti 2020
Randomised controlled trial - Palmitoylethanolamide or placebo; dose not in this abstract (see the same group's 2017 trial). Duration: 2 months.
- Mallard 2020
Randomised controlled trial - 167.5 mg of Levagen+ (150 mg of palmitoylethanolamide) as a drink, before exercise, after exercise, and at 24 and 48 hours. Duration: Four laboratory visits over consecutive days.
- Papetti 2020
Open-label, no control group - Ultramicronised PEA 600 mg a day. Duration: 3 months.
- Rossi 2020
Randomised controlled trial - 600 mg once a day by mouth, added to usual eye drops. Duration: Two 4-month periods, one with palmitoylethanolamide and one without, with no washout between.
- Alshelh 2019
Open-label, no control group - 300 mg capsules, at an individual dose of 600 to 900 mg three times a day. Duration: 6 weeks.
- Cervigni 2019
Open-label, no control group - Oral micronised palmitoylethanolamide with polydatin; dose not in the abstract. Duration: 6 months.
- Couch 2019
Randomised controlled trial - Oral PEA or cannabidiol or placebo in the human arm; dose not stated in the abstract. Duration: Single-dose lactulose-mannitol permeability test.
- Cruccu 2019
Randomised controlled trial - 600 mg a day of micronised palmitoylethanolamide.
- Lunardelli 2019
Controlled trial - Glialia (ultramicronised PEA 700 mg plus luteolin 70 mg) in patients; co-ultraPEALut 1 mg/kg by mouth in mice before or after LPS. Duration: Not stated in the abstract.
- Onesti 2019
Open-label, no control group - Ultramicronised PEA 600 mg twice a day for one week, added to usual treatment. Duration: 3 weeks of weekly assessments around a 1-week treatment period.
- Ottaviani 2019
Randomised controlled trial - 600 mg of ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide twice a day. Duration: 60 days, with a follow-up 4 months after stopping.
- Schweiger 2019
Observational study - Ultramicronised PEA tablets (Normast) added to whatever other treatment the patient was on; dose not stated in the abstract. Duration: Follow-up period not stated in the abstract.
- Steels 2019
Randomised controlled trial - 300 mg a day or 600 mg a day, in two divided doses, against placebo. Duration: 8 weeks.
- Stochino 2019
Open-label, no control group - 600 mg of ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide twice a day for 10 days, then 400 mg of palmitoylethanolamide with 40 mg of polydatin twice a day for 80 days. Duration: 90 days, with a 30-day follow-up.
- Chirchiglia 2018
Controlled trial - 1,200 mg a day of ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide. Duration: 90 days.
- Chirchiglia 2018
Case series - Ultramicronised PEA together with paracetamol and codeine; PEA dose not given in the abstract or preview. Duration: Two treatment cycles with checks at one and two months.
- Evangelista 2018
Controlled trial - 600 mg of ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide twice a day, before and after surgery. The comparison group had surgery only. Duration: The period before and after surgery.
- Ghazizadeh-Hashemi 2018
Randomised controlled trial - 600 mg twice a day, added to the antidepressant citalopram. The comparison group took placebo with citalopram. Duration: 6 weeks.
- Khalaj 2018
Randomised controlled trial - Palmitoylethanolamide added to the antipsychotic risperidone. The comparison group took placebo with risperidone. The dose was not visible on the page checked. Duration: 10 weeks.
- Artukoglu 2017
Meta-analysis - Varied across trials. Duration: Varied across trials.
- Brotini 2017
Observational study - 600 mg of ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide, added to usual treatment. Duration: One year.
- Couch 2017
Laboratory study - Palmitoylethanolamide or cannabidiol at 10 micromolar in culture, with an inflammatory stimulus. Duration: Tissue culture.
- Cremon 2017
Randomised controlled trial - 200 mg of palmitoylethanolamide with 20 mg of polydatin, twice a day. Duration: 12 weeks.
- Di 2017
Controlled trial - Topical PEA eye preparation (Defluxa) added to the patient's glaucoma drops; concentration not stated in the abstract. Duration: 30 days, assessed at days 0, 15 and 30.
- Faig-Martí 2017
Randomised controlled trial - 300 mg twice a day. Duration: 60 days.
- Germini 2017
Randomised controlled trial - 600 mg of ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide twice a day, against placebo. Duration: Two 3-week treatment phases for each patient, separated by 2-week washouts.
- Giammusso 2017
Randomised controlled trial - 300 mg of palmitoylethanolamide with 300 mg of alpha-lipoic acid (Peanase), compared with 320 mg of saw palmetto. Duration: 12 weeks.
- Indraccolo 2017
Meta-analysis - Micronised palmitoylethanolamide 400 mg with transpolydatin 40 mg twice a day. Duration: 3 months.
- Passavanti 2017
Observational study - Ultramicronised PEA added to tapentadol; PEA dose not in the abstract. Duration: 6 months.
- Viße 2017
Randomised controlled trial - A body lotion with palmitoylethanolamide, applied twice a day, compared with the same lotion without it. The concentration was not visible on the page checked. Duration: 2 weeks, with a 2-week follow-up.
- Andresen 2016
Randomised controlled trial - Ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide, added to usual treatment. The dose was not visible on the page checked. Duration: 12 weeks.
- Caltagirone 2016
Observational study - Co-ultramicronised PEA-luteolin 10:1 (Glialia) for 60 days in patients; post-ischaemia dosing in rats. Duration: 60 days, assessed at baseline and 30 days.
- Orefice 2016
Randomised controlled trial - 600 mg a day of ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide, added to interferon. Duration: 12 months.
- Paladini 2016
Meta-analysis - Micronised and ultramicronised PEA as used in the included studies. Duration: Pain change tracked over time to day 60.
- Palma 2016
Observational study - Not stated in the abstract. Duration: Not stated in the abstract.
- Petrosino 2016
Laboratory study - Dogs: ultramicronised PEA 30 mg/kg once. Volunteers: micronised PEA 300 mg once. Cells: 10 to 20 micromolar. Duration: Blood sampled over 8 hours in dogs and 6 hours in people.
- Caruso 2015
Open-label, no control group - PEA 300 mg plus alpha-lipoic acid 300 mg twice daily. Duration: 9 months, assessed at 3, 6 and 9 months.
- Del 2015
Observational study - All patients took duloxetine and pregabalin. The prospective group then added palmitoylethanolamide for 3 months: ultramicronised 600 mg twice a day at first, then micronised 300 mg twice a day. Duration: 6 months.
- Morera 2015
Controlled trial - Not stated in the abstract. Duration: Not stated in the abstract.
- Costagliola 2014
Controlled trial - 300 mg of ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide twice a day. Duration: 6 months.
- Ghafouri 2014
Randomised controlled trial - No PEA was given. The study measured the body's own PEA in muscle fluid before and after 4 to 6 months of exercise. Duration: 4 to 6 months.
- Nigro 2014
Observational study - Sinerga, a product containing palmitoylethanolamide, bovine colostrum, phenylethylamine and Kluyveromyces probiotic; doses not in the abstract. Duration: Retrospective review of about 9 months.
- Schifilliti 2014
Open-label, no control group - Micronised PEA (Normast) 300 mg twice daily. Duration: 60 days, with a follow-up visit at 90 days.
- Yuan 2014
Randomised controlled trial - An emollient with 0.3% palmitoylethanolamide and 0.21% acetylethanolamine, applied twice a day, compared with an emollient without them. Duration: 28 days.
- Lo 2013
Open-label, no control group - Two tablets a day of PEA 400 mg plus polydatin 40 mg. Duration: 90 days, assessed monthly.
- Murina 2013
Randomised controlled trial - PEA 400 mg plus transpolydatin 40 mg twice daily, or placebo. Duration: 60 days (mean 26.7 TENS sessions).
- Strobbe 2013
Randomised controlled trial - PEA 300 mg twice daily or matching placebo, prepared by the hospital pharmacy. Duration: 3 months, 2-month washout, then 3 months on the other treatment (crossover).
- Gatti 2012
Observational study - PEA 600 mg twice daily for 3 weeks, then 600 mg once daily for 4 weeks, with or without existing analgesics. Duration: 7 weeks.
- Marini 2012
Randomised controlled trial - 300 mg in the morning and 600 mg in the evening for 7 days, then 300 mg twice a day for 7 days. The comparison group took ibuprofen 600 mg three times a day. Duration: 14 days.
- Cobellis 2011
Randomised controlled trial - Micronised PEA 400 mg plus transpolydatin 40 mg twice daily for 3 months; placebo for 3 months; or celecoxib 200 mg twice daily for 7 days. Duration: 3 months.
- Conigliaro 2011
Controlled trial - PEA 600 mg or 1200 mg a day; untreated control group. Duration: 30 days.
- Gagliano 2011
Randomised controlled trial - PEA 300 mg tablets twice daily or vehicle placebo, added to timolol. Duration: 2 months, 2-month washout, then 1 month on the other treatment (crossover).
- Pescosolido 2011
Controlled trial - 2 tablets a day of PEA or placebo for 15 days before the procedure; tablet strength not given in the abstract. Duration: 15 days pretreatment; pressure measured at 15, 30 and 120 minutes after iridotomy.
- Truini 2011
Open-label, no control group - PEA 300 mg twice daily. Duration: 2 months.
- Guida 2010
Randomised controlled trial - Micronised PEA (Normast) 300 mg or 600 mg a day, or placebo, on top of usual treatment. Duration: 21 days.
- Indraccolo 2010
Case series - 400 mg of palmitoylethanolamide with 40 mg of polydatin, twice a day. Duration: 90 days.
- Eberlein 2008
Observational study - A skin care cream containing palmitoylethanolamide in a lamellar base, used regularly. The abstract does not state the concentration. Duration: 4 to 6 weeks.
- Hoareau 2006
Laboratory study - PEA added to culture with bacterial lipopolysaccharide. Duration: Cell culture.
Dogs
- Briskey 2026
Randomised controlled trial - Dogs: 150 to 750 mg a day by body weight. Cats: 150 mg a day. Both as Levagen+ capsules given with food. Duration: 6 weeks.
- Hay 2022
Observational study - No PEA given. Serum levels of the dog's own PEA and other endocannabinoids were measured. Duration: Single measurement, with survival follow-up.
- Galiazzo 2018
Laboratory study - No PEA given. Immunohistochemistry for four receptors. Duration: Not applicable.
- Abramo 2017
Laboratory study - Ultramicronised PEA 30 micromolar in the culture medium, given 24 hours before and 72 hours with compound 48/80 (10 or 100 micrograms/mL), a mast cell secretagogue. Duration: 5 days of culture.
- Petrosino 2016
Laboratory study - Dogs: ultramicronised PEA 30 mg/kg once. Volunteers: micronised PEA 300 mg once. Cells: 10 to 20 micromolar. Duration: Blood sampled over 8 hours in dogs and 6 hours in people.
- Petrosino 2016
Laboratory study - Adelmidrol, a PEA analogue, or azelaic acid added to cell cultures. Duration: Cell culture.
- Noli 2015
Open-label, no control group - Ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide by mouth. A later review gives the dose as 10 mg/kg a day. Duration: 8 weeks.
- Abramo 2014
Laboratory study - No PEA given. The dogs' own skin PEA was measured. Duration: Not applicable.
- Cerrato 2012
Laboratory study - A single dose by mouth of 3, 10 or 30 mg/kg, in ultramicronised form. Duration: Single dose.
- Cerrato 2012
Controlled trial - 2 percent adelmidrol emulsion applied topically for 8 days; repeated intradermal antigen challenges. Duration: 8 days.
- Cerrato 2010
Laboratory study - PEA from 10 nanomolar to 10 micromolar in vitro. Duration: In vitro challenge.
Cats
- Briskey 2026
Randomised controlled trial - Dogs: 150 to 750 mg a day by body weight. Cats: 150 mg a day. Both as Levagen+ capsules given with food. Duration: 6 weeks.
- Noli 2019
Randomised controlled trial - 15 mg/kg once daily by mouth, as an ultramicronised oral suspension. Duration: A 28-day tapering course of methylprednisolone for all cats, then 8 weeks on the supplement or placebo, then 4 weeks of follow-up.
- Scarampella 2001
Open-label, no control group - PLR 120 (comicronised palmidrol, a PEA formulation) 10 mg/kg twice daily; no other drugs allowed; parasite control maintained. Duration: 1 month, assessed at 15 and 30 days.
Horses
- Gatti 2025
Laboratory study - No PEA given. An analytical method for measuring the horse's own PEA and oleoylethanolamide in plasma. Duration: Not applicable.
- Gugliandolo 2020
Case series - 2.5 g a day of ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide, mixed into feed. Duration: 2 to 4 months.
Other animals
- Frikha 2025
Laboratory study - Not applicable. Duration: Not applicable.
- Tortolani 2025
Laboratory study - About 30 mg/kg a day, released from a pellet implanted under the skin. Duration: 6 months, from 6 to 12 months of age.
- Balaji 2024
Laboratory study - A single injection into the abdomen of 3, 10 or 30 mg/kg, or vehicle. Duration: Single dose, with brain imaging while awake.
- Pirozzi 2023
Laboratory study - 30 mg/kg a day of ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide by mouth. Duration: 7 weeks, starting after 12 weeks on the high-fat diet.
- Toti 2023
Laboratory study - Ultramicronised PEA 100 micromolar for 18 hours before morphine 30 micromolar. Duration: Cell culture.
- Colizzi 2022
Meta-analysis - Varied. Duration: Not applicable.
- Lama 2022
Laboratory study - 30 mg/kg a day by mouth. Duration: 7 weeks, after 12 weeks on the high-fat diet.
- Ardizzone 2021
Laboratory study - Ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide at 2.5 or 5 mg/kg, acetyl-L-carnitine at 2.5 or 100 mg/kg, plain palmitoylethanolamide at 100 mg/kg, and combinations, all by mouth 30 minutes before the injection. Duration: 6 hours.
- D'Aloia 2021
Laboratory study - 100 micromolar in the culture dish, given 1 hour before a bacterial toxin (lipopolysaccharide). Duration: 6 hours.
- D'Antongiovanni 2021
Laboratory study - 5 mg/kg a day by mouth. Duration: 2 months, from 4 months of age.
- Deshmukh 2021
Laboratory study - 250, 500 or 1,000 mg/kg a day by mouth from day 0 to day 19 of gestation. Duration: 19 days of gestation, with caesarean examination on day 20.
- Kong 2021
Laboratory study - PEA in culture; ROCK2 inhibition IC50 38 micromolar. Duration: 0 to 4 hours.
- Sarnelli 2021
Laboratory study - Biopsies cultured at pH 3.0 or 7.4, with PEA added at several concentrations, alone or with PPAR-alpha or PPAR-gamma blockers. Duration: Tissue culture.
- Lunardelli 2019
Controlled trial - Glialia (ultramicronised PEA 700 mg plus luteolin 70 mg) in patients; co-ultraPEALut 1 mg/kg by mouth in mice before or after LPS. Duration: Not stated in the abstract.
- Petrosino 2018
Laboratory study - A single dose by mouth of 10 or 30 mg/kg of labelled palmitoylethanolamide, as plain powder (particles of 100 to 2,000 micrometres) or ultramicronised (0.8 to 6 micrometres). Duration: Up to 6 hours.
- Britti 2017
Laboratory study - 10 or 20 mg/kg of a co-ultramicronised palmitoylethanolamide and quercetin product by mouth, compared with the anti-inflammatory drug meloxicam. Duration: A single dose in the swelling model. Three doses a week for 21 days in the joint model.
- Caltagirone 2016
Observational study - Co-ultramicronised PEA-luteolin 10:1 (Glialia) for 60 days in patients; post-ischaemia dosing in rats. Duration: 60 days, assessed at baseline and 30 days.
- Petrosino 2016
Laboratory study - Dogs: ultramicronised PEA 30 mg/kg once. Volunteers: micronised PEA 300 mg once. Cells: 10 to 20 micromolar. Duration: Blood sampled over 8 hours in dogs and 6 hours in people.
- Petrosino 2016
Laboratory study - Adelmidrol, a PEA analogue, or azelaic acid added to cell cultures. Duration: Cell culture.
- De 2011
Laboratory study - 200, 400 or 800 micrograms per mL injected into the sponge at the start. Duration: 96 hours.